Iditarod Fast-Fact: Earning the Red Lantern

Posted by on March 12, 2012 in Iditarod, Iditarod Fast-Facts | 2 comments

Naturally, a lot of people are excited to see the first Iditarod racer to cross the line. That musher gets a pile of money, a new car and world-wide fame.

But there is also the “Red Lantern” award for another racer: Whoever finishes the Iditarod in last place earns the famed award.

Make no mistakes, the honor isn’t given to the racer to make fun of them, but it signifies that every musher on the trail has been accounted for and (hopefully) is safe.

Along the same line, every racer who completes the entire race earns a special belt buckle.

Mushers who “scratch,” meaning they opted to give up on the race for a variety of reasons, don’t earn anything.

View more Iditarod Fast-Facts here.


  1. who won the red lantern awad in the 2012 race

  2. As I write this, there are still two racers on the trail. JD will update you with the final standings, and the Red Lantern winner when we get word!


  1. More on Mitch Seavey’s Iditarod win | Junior Dispatch - [...] Earning a red lantern [...]

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>