Sunset on the race: 2012 Iditarod is over

Posted by on March 20, 2012 in Featured, Iditarod | Comments Off

Iditarod 2012 is finally over. After more than 16 days on the trail, Jan Steves was the last musher to get her dog-sledding team across the finish line in Nome, Alaska.

DeeDee Jonrowe heads down the Yukon River after leaving the Ruby checkpoint of the Iditarod Trail Sled Dog Race on Friday, March 9, 2012. (AP Photo/Marc Lester, Anchorage Daily News)

She was beaten by 52 other teams in the race, and only just a few minutes behind Bob Chlupach.
In all 66 teams started the Iditarod Trail Sled Dog race. Thirteen teams scratched.
Steves, 55, of Edmonds, Wash., crossed the finish line at 2:57 a.m. to take the Red Lantern award.
Other honors were announced at the finishers’ banquet in Nome:

  • Pen Air Spirit of Alaska Award — Aliy Zirkle
  • GCI Dorothy G. Page Halfway Award — Jim Lanier
  • Wells Fargo Bank Alaska Gold Coast Award — Aliy Zirkle
  • Nome Kennel Club Fastest Time from Safety to Nome Award — Mike Williams, Jr.
  • Horizon Lines Most Improved Musher Award — Rohn Buser
  • Jerry Austin Rookie of the Year — Brent Sass
  • Fred Meyer Sportsmanship Award — Lance Mackey
  • ExxonMobil Mushers Choice Award — Dan Seavey
  • Northern Air Cargo Herbie Nayokpuk Memorial Award — Michelle Phillips
  • Golden Clipboard Award — Community of Nulato
  • Golden Stethoscope Award — Ruth Kothe, DVM and Tanja Kruse, DVM
  • Alaska Airlines Leonhard Seppala Humanitarian Award — DeeDee Jonrowe
  • City of Nome Lolly Medley Golden Harness Award Winner — Guinness — Dallas Seavey Lead Dog
  • Northern Air Cargo Four Wheeler Drawing Winner — Peter Kaiser

The Anchorage Daily News contributed to this report. Visit the paper at