What we are working on: Oct. 11

Here are the stories we’re working on today. Our daily coverage can change at a moment’s notice, but this is what we have so far. If you know of any stories we should be working on, or can contribute to something we have listed here, drop an email to the reporter listed below or to news@yorkdispatch.com.

NEWS:

Emergency planning exercise to close some roads this weekend. Reporter: Liz Evans. (levans@yorkdispatch.com)

Court round-up. Reporter: Liz Evans. (levans@yorkdispatch.com)

Programs at the York County Youth Development Center aimed at getting kids working out in the community. Reporter: Chris Kauffman. (ckauffman@yorkdispatch.com)

Dallastown school board meeting. Reporter: Andy Shaw. (ashaw@yorkdispatch.com)

Possible frost this weekend. Reporter: Greg Gross. (ggross@yorkdispatch.com)

Representatives from York’s sister city in France tour Industrial and Agricultural Museum. Reporter: Erin James. (ejames@yorkdispatch.com) With ART.

York County Head Start has long waiting list of families wanting its services. Reporter: Chelsea Shank. (cshank@yorkdispatch.com)

OPINION:

If local Boy Scouts council can’t change its stance on gays and lesbians, it shouldn’t expect United Way to change its non-discrimination policy. (pdelany@yorkdispatch.com)

Larry Hicks column on how Hershey’s albino alligator piques interest of his granddaughter.

SPORTS:

MLB playoffs (Orioles vs. Yankees, Game 4.)

John Walk covers Susquehannock-West York girls’ soccer match. The winner will take the York-Adams Division II championship. This will be the lead on the girls’ soccer roundup (seven events). With ART. (jwalk@yorkdispatch.com)

Coverage the Eastern-York Suburban girls’ volleyball match. Suburban can clinch the York-Adams Division II title with a win. This will be the lead on the girls’ volleyball roundup (eight events). With ART. (sports@yorkdispatch.com)

John Walk will have feature on Red Lion grad Andrew Zeller, who is a starting offensive lineman at Maryland under Susquehannock grad Randy Edsall.(jwalk@yorkdispatch.com)

Andy Snyder’s outdoors column, on the importance of hunters eating what they kill.

Field hockey roundup (nine events).

Boys’ soccer roundup (eight events).

Cross country roundup (two events).

York Catholic has a District 3-AA girls’ tennis first-round match.

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>