What we are working on: Nov. 8

Here are the stories we’re working on today. Our daily coverage can change at a moment’s notice, but this is what we have so far. If you know of any stories we should be working on, or can contribute to something we have listed here, drop an email to the reporter listed below or to news@yorkdispatch.com.

NEWS:

Following on stay of execution granted to Hubert Lester Michael. Reporter: Liz Evans. (levans@yorkdispatch.com) With ART of protest.

Fourth day of homicide trial of Joann Helfrich, accused of shooting boyfriend. Reporter: Chris Kauffman. (ckauffman@yorkdispatch.com)

York County enters into contract to control bedbug problem at the prison. Reporter: Chris Kauffman. (ckauffman@yorkdispatch.com)

Meeting about the state’s chronic wasting disease management plan for the deer population. Reporter. Greg Gross. (ggross@yorkdispatch.com)

Preview of Veterans Day events. Reporter. Chelsea Shank. (cshank@yorkdispatch.com)

Preview of Great American Smokeout. Reporter. Chelsea Shank. (cshank@yorkdispatch.com)

Round-up of free meals for veterans. Reporter: Candy Woodall. (cwoodall@yorkdispatch.com)

OPINION:

York County’s political parties should hold public meetings to find candidates to fill Eugene DePasquale’s House seat. (pdelany@yorkdispatch.com)

Larry Hicks column on how it took the death of a police officers to toughen the state’s straw purchasing law.

SPORTS:

John Walk will have a story on two York County girls who have earned full scholarships to compete in gymnastics in college. (jwalk@yorkdispatch.com)

Andy Snyder’s outdoors column on imagining a world without sportsmen. (sports@yorkdispatch.com)

NFL: Colts (coached by York High grad Bruce Arians) take on the Chargers. (sports@yorkdispatch.com)

Preview of Penn State-Nebraska game.

Delone Catholic will have PIAA Class AA state girls’ volleyball match vs. Masterman at Wilson. (sports@yorkdispatch.com)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>